Lavoire Beauty

Creative, Natural and Inexpensive DIY Beauty Solutions

REFRESHING RED / WHITE WINE FACIAL CLEANSER AND TONER

Facial cleanser

Facial cleanser

What You’ll Need To Do It Yourself:

(1) RED WINE

Glass of Red Wine

Glass of Red Wine

Why you’ll love it: Red wine contains high levels of antioxidant polyphenols, which are beneficial in keeping skin healthy. Red wine (when used in skin care products) is said to:

–           fight free radicals

–          stimulate blood circulation

–          rejuvenate and firm skin

–          Increase skin elasticity

–          ease the nerves

–          leave skin bright and glowing

Why use it in this recipe: The above stimulating properties mean that red wine should soften wrinkles and fine lines and therefore should be very useful in battling the effects of aging skin. In the cases of acne and eczema, red wine is also considered to be good for detoxifying the skin and in this way, helping the skin against these kind of disorders.

I use whatever wine i have lying around the house at the particular time that I am making the cleanser. Box wine works just as well as any expensive wine!

Red wine

Red wine

What’s the alternative: White wine. White wine contains the same qualities as red wine, but in more subtle quantities. If you’ve got really sensitive or really fair skin, I would advise that you use white wine in this recipe.

White wine

White wine

* Consideration: Whereas red wine is good as an anti-aging skin toner, white wine is just as (if not more) effective for the tightening of any open pores and preventing the recurrence of acne. White wine is also said to work wonders on dry skin and red wine on oily skin.

(2) VINEGAR

White Vinegar and Apple Cider Vinegar

White Vinegar and Apple Cider Vinegar

Why you’ll love it: It took me a while to figure this one out because I felt the wine wasn’t quite enough . . . Thank goodness I finally have the answer! Vinegar is filled with naturally occurring Alpha Hydroxy Acids (AHAs), which originate from sugars in certain plants. AHAs have properties that improve the skin instead of just temporarily making it look better. So, AHAs are basically nature’s facial cleansing gift to us!

Why use it in this recipe: The AHAs exfoliate the skin by dissolving the “glue” that holds dead skin cells together. This removes dirt, oil and blackheads, while also allowing the natural emollient oils to surface. This promotes the growth of new cells, which results in healthier skin that is more flexible and even in tone, less wrinkled, more hydrated, and smoother.

* Note: Vinegar is a Class I Preservative. This means that together with refrigeration, adding vinegar will help keep this wonderfully Refreshing Red / White Wine Facial Cleanser fresher for longer.

What’s the alternative: You may substitute say, regular vinegar with apple cider vinegar, red wine vinegar or white wine vinegar . . . any vinegar will do. Generally you should use a red wine vinegar for the red wine cleanser and white wine vinegar for a white wine cleanser. However, if you can’t get these just use any regular vinegar you have in your pantry!

(3) LEMON JUICE / EXTRACT (FRESH!)

Fresh Lemons

Fresh Lemons

Why you’ll love it: Just like vinegar, citrus fruits like lemons are filled with naturally occurring AHAs.

Why use it in this recipe: For the awesome natural cleansing properties of the AHAs.

What’s the alternative: If you’re unable to squeeze your own lemon juice (which is what I recommend), you could buy a bottle of freshly squeezed lemon juice from a grocery store. Make sure that you get 100% fresh juice that is neither sweetened nor enhanced with anything. You could also substitute this with the fresh juice of an orange. However, i recommend lemon juice.

Store Bought 100% Lemon Juice

Store Bought 100% Lemon Juice

(4) EMPTY BOTTLE or CONTAINER

I cleaned out a 177ml bottle that previously contained an olive oil hair moisturizer. (Reduce! Reuse! Recycle!)

Empty hair lotion bottle

Empty hair lotion bottle

The reason I liked and picked this particular bottle is that the plastic screw cap had a tiny hole to allow small amounts of the liquid to pour out at a time. It was ideal for my bottle of homemade facial cleanser!

Empty bottle

Empty bottle

If you do recycle (and please do), be sure to thoroughly clean and dry the bottle and cap/lid.

Cleaning empty bottle

Cleaning empty bottle

 

How To Do It Yourself:

This is possibly the easiest recipe . . . Ever!

Combine the following *ingredients in your empty bottle or container:

  1. 6 tbsp of red wine (or 6 tbsp of white wine, or a mixture of both if you like)
  2. 3 tbsp of vinegar
  3. 3 tbsp of fresh lemon juice
Vinegar, Empty bottles, Lemons, White wine and Red wine

Vinegar, Empty bottles, Lemons, White wine and Red wine

Freshly squeezed lemon juice!

Freshly squeezed lemon juice!

Shake the contents well and . . . that’s it! This recipe if kept well refrigerated will keep for six to eight (6 – 8) months without going bad. However, I prefer to make it in small batches and with frequent (once daily, 3 to 4 times a week) use, this recipe lasts about 6 months.

Because I do not have sensitive skin, I prepare both the Red and White Wine Cleansers, and vary the use depending on oil or residue build-up on my face. When very oily, I use the Red and when dry and cleaner, I use the White wine cleanser.

Red wine (L) and White wine (R) facial cleansers

Red wine (L) and White wine (R) facial cleansers

* Feel free to alter the ratio of the ingredients depending on the size of container you are using. Remember for every 2 tbsp of wine, use 1 tbsp of vinegar and 1 tbsp of lemon juice.

 

How To Use Your Refreshing Red or White Wine Facial Cleanser and Toner:

        1. Clean your face thoroughly – you may want to steam your face after cleansing to open up your pores.

(* Tip: Add a few drops of rosemary essential oil to the hot water or cloth that you intend to use to steam your face. This will open up your sinuses and help you relax. You may also mix in a few drops of your favorite essential oils with the cleanser.)

2. Use cotton wool / cotton balls to apply the cleanser all over your face, avoiding contact with your eyes.

3. Allow the cleanser a few minutes to dry. Your face may get a little bit sticky once the cleanser has dried on.

4. Gently rinse off the cleanser with warm water

5. Dab your face dry, and moisturize

 

And… It’s as easy as that!

Hope you all love this!

Feel free to comment, ask questions or send me feedback. Tell me how your Refreshing Red / White Wine Cleanser and Toner turns out!!

 

* Bonus 1: Make a simple wine face mask with leftover wine. Take 3-4 tbsp of red (or white wine), 1 tbsp of honey and 1/2 tbsp of aloe vera gel. Mix well and apply to the face and neck. Leave on for 20-30 minutes and rinse off.

* Bonus 2: When you’re done, you can go here to check out some great ideas for cocktails made using your leftover wine.

18 comments on “REFRESHING RED / WHITE WINE FACIAL CLEANSER AND TONER

  1. Asha
    January 18, 2016

    Hello.. How long can we keep this cleanser.. Should we refrigerate the above cleanser

    • Lavoire Beauty Co.
      September 14, 2016

      @ Asha: Thanks for your question. I was able to keep the cleanser for 7 months refrigerated without it going bad. However, I only added the lemon juice to the cleanser before each use so that helped it stay fresh for longer. This was a test and I would not recommend that you store the cleanser this long. I would advise that you make small batches depending on how much you use, and keep it in the fridge for maximum 4 to 6 weeks. If not refrigerated, I would suggest you make even smaller batches (a few tablespoons if possible) which you can keep for a few days (3 or 4) and then make more. Thanks again for your comment. I hope that this helps

  2. nancy
    October 22, 2015

    I wanted to knw that cn we apply any red wine on our face or there is specific

    • Lavoire Beauty Co.
      October 31, 2015

      @ nancy: Thank you so much for your comment. You may use any wine that you have. Cheap, expensive, it won’t really affect the outcome of your homemade cleanser. However, some sources argue that different varieties of grapes may have different levels of anti-oxidants (which is the main reason we use wine in this mask). Supposedly, grapes varieties grown in cooler and more humid climates have higher levels of the anti-oxidant compound than those grown in warmer, dryer climates. So if you like, you may want to look into getting wines produced in areas with cooler climate.
      But, I wouldn’t worry too much. Just use what you have (even a cheap wine from your local gas station) and it should work just as well as an expensive red or white wine.
      Thanks again for taking the time to read this post and comment. Feel free to get in touch if you have more questions 🙂

  3. put annonymous
    September 29, 2015

    I love to read about home remedies for the skin. This one is mine:

    I’ve been having dry skin for about 10 years. Compound topical hormone medications by prescription turned it around for me. I’m in my 50’s.

    But here is the thing. My daily bath using vinegar and other ingredients.

    Here’s what I use. Red wine vinegar( lead safe list) Read about imported online. I add about a shot glass full to a quart to a liter of warm water. Depending on how strong I like it. You see, I’ve tried other vinegar. There’s nothing like the red wine. Then I add organic grape seed oil. No other oils. You see they come from the same source. This duo is compatible. They come from the same plant. I love to add two more ingredients. Believe or not glycerin is great for the skin. The last ingredient is vanilla. When I can, I buy the vanilla that has the glycerin already in it. The vanilla smells great in the shower and the glycerin adds that extra softness to the skin that the grape seed oil won’t. But the combination is so cleansing. I don’t like using coconut oil or apricot oil or olive oil. It’s got to be about a tsp of grape seed oil. I keep min in the fridge to keep it cold. I make mine fresh every day. I didn’t like substituting the vinegar for lemon juice. The lemon is too harsh for my dry skin. The skin likes a little bit of acidity but not that much. And if lemon is alkaline then you may as well use soap. That’s alkaline too. Good luck. Try it. Just keep your eyes closed in the shower when you pour it over your face or it might sting. Taste it. It should taste good with or without the vanilla. I love the sense of clean I get. You can use a little Magnesium oil spray afterward on the rough spots and then rinse again. Your skin will feel like you came from the best spa routine. At least that’s my daily experience. I forgot to mention. I use the plastic water bottle too with the little squeeze cap you find on some water bottles.

    • put annonymous
      September 29, 2015

      I want to add to my own comment. I have dry skin, but the above routine works. I also add other serums and creams after the bath or shower. If I had the acne, I would try to lemon. I haven’t used red wine yet, but I will try the concentrated version of wine and wine vinegar someday, maybe for that antioxidant effect, if the vinegar alone isn’t enough. So thanks for the remedies.

      • Lavoire Beauty Co.
        October 31, 2015

        @ put anonymous: Thank you so much for your insightful comments. I really appreciate it.
        And I’m glad that you enjoyed reading through the remedies, I’m happy to share 🙂

    • Lavoire Beauty Co.
      October 31, 2015

      @ put anonymous: Thank you for your comment. I really did enjoy reading what you wrote and I learned a couple of new things from you. I will do some research on some of the things that you mentioned, just to gain a little more info on them. I hope the other readers will appreciate your input as much as I do.
      Thanks again for taking the time to read my post and thanks for your comment. I appreciate the input 🙂

  4. maria
    September 13, 2015

    if i do the mask how long i can keep it in fridge..

    • Lavoire Beauty Co.
      September 20, 2015

      @ maria: Thanks for your question. I was able to keep the cleanser for 7 months refrigerated without it going bad. However, I only added the lemon juice to the cleanser before each use so that helped it stay fresh for longer. This was a test and I would not recommend that you store the cleanser this long. I would advise that you make small batches depending on how much you use, and keep it in the fridge for maximum 4 to 6 weeks. Thanks again 🙂

  5. Anonymous
    August 6, 2015

    nice tips madam ,but can u tell how to apply on face for normal skin tht mean oil or .dry .for more than 32 yrs we can use for party mam

    • Lavoire Beauty Co.
      September 20, 2015

      @ Anonymous: Thanks for your question. For oily skin, I would recommend the red wine cleanser. For dry to normal skin, I would recommend using the white wine cleanser. The solution works perfectly as a toner for all skin types 🙂

  6. Eashita jaggi
    April 17, 2015

    Can I use red wine directly on face by dabbing a cotton ball into it?? And after it, without washing a face, can i apply a cream on a face?? And go out in the sun.

    • Lavoire Beauty Co.
      May 8, 2015

      @ Eashita jaggi: You can use red wine on its own as a facial cleanser or just to rejuvenate your skin. I would advise you to rinse off or at least wipe off the wine that you dab onto your face to avoid staining clothes or getting sticky.
      Thanks for checking out the post and for your comment.

  7. sarita
    October 17, 2013

    can u please tell other use of white wine on skin …..red wine benifits already there …..drinking white wine benefits also common article please provide some other benifits

    • Lavoire Beauty Co.
      October 18, 2013

      @ Sarita: Because white wine and red wine have many of the some qualities, the list of benefits of white wine on your skin would be the same as those of red wine (listed above). However, white wine is milder, more subtle and a better option for those with dry, sensitive or fair skin as opposed to using red wine which may be slightly harsh on their skin. Following your comment, I have updated the post to include a short paragraph with this information. I hope that this helps you. Thank you for taking the time to read the post, and for your comment.

  8. love the tip

We'd Love to Hear from You...